MEETING MOLLY

2 06 2010

Just a few weeks ago, I was contacted on Facebook about a girl in Maryland named Molly who has a rare brain disease called Chiari Malformation.  Even after undergoing brain surgery, her symptoms have gotten worse.

Unfortunately, she is unable to attend school or play sports.  At just 17 years-old, she is in constant pain and spends most of her time in bed.

When she was asked what one wish she would like to have granted, it was to see Real Salt Lake play and to meet me.  To say the least, I was honored and flattered that I was the person she wanted to meet, but I knew I had to make this dream come true.

With the help from some old DC United friends, today I get to meet up with Molly down at RFK Stadium while we match up against DCU in the Open Cup.

To see what she is battling, you can visit www.conquerchiari.org and www.asap.org.

Actions

Information

4 responses

2 06 2010
lee

Thats the REAL reward of being a professional athlete!!

2 06 2010
Emily

Hey! I am friends with Molly and she is really an amazing, tough and overall perfect person. She never complains about the pain she has. It is so nice of you to do this and she is really looking forward to it. Thanks!

2 06 2010
Chris

Hey Nick,

That’s awesome that you’re making a dream come true for a Chiari patient! My older brother and I also live with Chiari Malformation (he had the surgery at 16, I have not so far). I have been living with the constant accelerating headache for 6 1/2 years. It robbed me of my jr. and sr. years of soccer in high school, but in many ways it’s made me who I am today, and a much stronger person. Thanks for bringing some attention to an all-too-often ignored condition that afflicts thousands of people in America.

Chris

3 06 2010
Rita

Hey! I have known Molly since kindergarten and we have been such good friends ever since! She is always smiling and always knows how to make everyone feel better! Thanks so much for meeting her! It means so much to her! She is an AMAZING soccer player and I hope she can play again soon!! Molly is one of the nicest people I know and an amazing person/friend! I know this will give her the strength to keep fighting! 🙂 thanks so much!

Leave a Reply

