INTERVIEW WITH JAVIER MORALES

11 03 2010

Where’s a good Argentine restaurant in SLC? There is no Argentine Restaurant in SLC but my favorite is Biaggis at The Gateway.

What are you game day rituals? I like to relax, do nothing, and play with my son, Santi.

What do you like to eat before a game? I eat chicken and pasta, lots of water, and some fruit.

How did you and Kyle come up with the “Kyle and Javi Show?” It started off as a joke between Kyle and I… then it progressed to a funny show where one fan is naming his beer after you, would you be willing to try it?  Me – Yes, I’ll taste, but only if he pays…

Who cuts your hair? Brooklyn from Landis

How does he like the United States compared to Argentina? The life here is easier, and not as dangerous.  I feel much more comfortable with my family, but I do have a lot of friends and family back home that I miss.

What player do you most look forward to compete against in the MLS? I like to play against the Rapids and compete against Pablo.  He’s a good soccer player and each game is so meaningful.

How did you celebrate after the 2009 MLS Cup? I celebrated with my friends and family in SLC, but was unable to celebrate like I really want to because my knee was hurt.

What are you goals for the upcoming season? I want to score more goals and I would like to play a full MLS Cup final… not just 15 minutes.

What are you favorite clubs around the world? Temperley, from Argentina. It is in the City I grew up in and followed as a kid.  I also enjoy watching FC Barcelona.

What is your favorite sport other than soccer? I love Tennis

Who was your favorite soccer player growing up? Enzo Francescoli

Besides soccer, what are you passions? Music, traveling, friends, and family

Other then Argentina, what country do you think is going to win the World Cup? Spain. I think they are the best team in the world.

If you weren’t playing soccer, what would you be doing? Maybe something  with music

Where do you hate playing in the MLS? I hate playing in Kansas City, because their field is small and formed around a baseball field

What advice would you give to younger soccer players? Be passionate when you play, play with your heart, and think with your head.

How ‘cebar el mate’? Cebar Mate: necesitamos un mate, yerba, azucar y agua caliente. Se prepara el mate, que es algo parecido a un vaso, con yerba y azucar y le ponemos agua caliente para poder tomarlo mediante una bombilla. Es medio complicado pero es tradicional en mi pais.

What pumps you up before a game? I listen to music by La Vela Puerca

WHO on RSL is the…

BEST DRESSED – Will Johnson

WORST DRESSED – My friend, Robbie Russell

FAN FAVORITE – Andy Williams

TEAM LEADER – Kyle Beckerman

CLOWN – Nick Rimando

IF YOU COULD FORM A BAND WHO WOULD BE IN IT?

Javi – SINGER, of course

Kyle – On the Guitar

Wingert – On the other guitar

Findley – Bass

Andy – Drums

Jamison – Security

Nat – The Lawyer

Actions

Information

12 responses

11 03 2010
RSLnPortland

Great interview! Thanks for it- I hope there are more to come.

p.s.
Thanks for winning us the Cup!

11 03 2010
Alan Kendall

Grande Maestro…A romperla de nuevo este ano…que la Copa se Queda en Salt Lake por otro ano mas.

11 03 2010
NIMH: Interview with Javier Morales « Keepin' it Real

[…] post on Nick Rimando’s blog has an interview with teammate Javier Morales, make sure and check it […]

11 03 2010
Derek Hoopes

I love the band members. Jamison and Nat…LMAO. Nice interview.

11 03 2010
Brandon

Keep the interviews coming! This was awesome!

11 03 2010
Billy

What about that Argentine Grill on 6000 South 900 East?

Is that place still around?

Thanks for the interview.

11 03 2010
Nick

thanks guys, Ned has a good one coming up soon

11 03 2010
postfontaine

Great interview. That band would be pretty entertaining.

11 03 2010
BME

Ha! Love the band. Awesome interview.

12 03 2010
SoccerLee

I am still laughing about the band! Nat and Olave; how many lawyers hang out with security? ;o)

I think your interviews are my favorite spots, along with pics. Thanks for letting us get to know you a bit better. Can’t wait for the season to start!

12 03 2010
Dustin

There is a place in Clearfield called the Argentine Grille. It’s excellent authentic Argentine food.

13 03 2010
Julia

There is a Uruguay restaurant on State and about 1400 S, across from SLCC. It has yummy lomito and alfajores and other things. Its casual and cheap.

Leave a Reply

